Why We Kick

Martial arts plays a big part in my life.

I train most days of the week, often three-times a day. I also teach.

Criticism of the hobby often comes from people who disagree with aggressive behaviour. For me, the pursuit of MA is not so than you can fight better, but so that you are better equipped to avoid fights.

For many of my students it provides a positive social space outside work and school. I’ve never seen this final point illustrated more beautifully until today.

Here’s a fantastic animation created by a couple of members of my school, Shugyo.

Leave a Reply

